JustMargaret
(Member) (Topic Starter)
I am thinking about New Zealand in the autumn and am wondering how much spending money I am likely need. I see that some meals are included but as I have no experience of this type of holiday, I am wondering how much to allow. It would be my trip of a lifetime, so I wouldn`t want to miss out on anything, so I would be grateful for some advice.

I had a wonderful time in Andalucía last year, and will be off to Cilento Coast on the 5th May.

Regards, Margaret

Julia
  • (Member)
(Member)
Hi Margaret,

Sorry for the delay in coming back to you I wanted to gather all of the appropriate information...

So in terms of meals, the price varies (just like in the UK) - you can eat quite cheaply or al la carte. For guidance we have been recommended the following:

Breakfasts in the hotels: Cooked $25.00inc Continental $18.00inc

Lunch (out & about) $18.00inc to $25.00inc

Dinner (out & about)$30.00inc to $38.00inc

Drinks (soft & alcoholic) Soft Drinks $3.50inc / Wine or Beer $6.50inc

I've been informed that there are plenty of supermarket stops along the ways if you want to stock up on items too and I'm sure our community members may like to share their own experiences in terms of prices.

There are a number of excursions already included in the price of the holiday but there are a few optional excursions that you may like to book - and this can be done before you leave the UK;

Agrodome and Rainbow Springs

Dart River Safari

Walter Peak Cruise

Kawarau Jet

If I can help with anything else - please let me know.

Kindest regards,

Julia

nixon
  • (Member)
(Member)
Hello Margaret

I have been on the Hong Kong-New Zealand tour January 2012... Amazing tour I must say, our weather in Hong Kong was not good but you have no control of the weather. The Newzealand tour is on the go,to see all the sights that you can in the time your there. The scenery is stunningly beautiful.