silverbird
(Member) (Topic Starter)
Hi all

I'm new to JY and since I am quite shy and I won't know anyone else; what do the Tour managers do to help you meet others in the group?  

Is there an enforced table sitting chart or do they tell you where to sit on the bus?  Do they play any games or give you name tags?  I don't like wearing name tags if I can help it.

Any info on what to expect would be great.  thanks

BGray
  • (Member)
(Member)
Hi you really have nothing to worry about!  Before you go to the airport, put the Just You tag on your hand luggage and this will help other travellers to spot you.  If you are on a long haul tour, you will probably have an executive lounge to meet the others and this is a great way to start getting to know the group.  If not, then when you go to the gate you may well bump into some of the group - you will certainly meet some at the baggage reclaim and this is the perfect time to strike up conversation and start getting to know people.  After 14 tours, I often find that people pair off with the person they sat on the coach with over the first day or two.  A few tour managers use seat rotation, but this is not popular with most travellers as many have a preference for sitting near the front or the back or just like to choose who they sit next to!  Name tags are not given - we are not on a school outing!!  People mix well on these tours and I find that after a couple of days, I've spoken to most of the group and by the end of the week I know everyone's names. Most JY holidays have at least some lunches and dinners included and these generally involve sitting at large tables, so you will get to know people that way too.  Don't be shy, strike up conversation and join in the general chat and you will be just fine!

All the best,

Bob

Dyuti
  • (Member)
(Member)