Rose54
  • (Member) (Topic Starter)
(Member) (Topic Starter)
Hello solos, anyone else going on the Walking in Nepal trip this November? I have just booked the one departing from Heathrow on Etihad, Nov 7 2019. I also booked the optional Dhulikhel add-on, so 16 days in total. I looked into upgrading to Business Class - it's an extra £2,300 both ways so I think it will have to just be economy.

It's my first time with JY and I am excited like a little kid! Any hints and tips from fellow travellers, or those who might have on this tour before, would be most welcome. I need to decide whether to take walking boots or just walking shoes and walking sandals, and do we need to bring a walking pole(s)? What sort of clothing do people take - I think it will be quite warm during the days but it can get a bit chilly in the evening. Hopefully we will get more information from JY in the travel pack. 

I look forward to meeting my fellow walkers either here, at Heathrow, Abu Dhabi or Kathmandu  :)

Rose x

Hils
  • (Member)
(Member)
Hi Rose,

I have not done this particular trip in Nepal but did the trek towards Everest in 2003, and am going back to Nepal later this year (not with JY). If you go up to the Search button (top right hand of this page) and put in Nepal, you will find some reviews. 

For my trip this year I will be taking lightweight hiking boots and trekking sandals. I am a big fan of trekking poles (2 are better than one, but one is better than none!). In terms of clothing - I live in Rohan and Craghoppers, both of which are designed for the outdoor life and also wash and dry really quickly. You can also get Insect Repellent clothes from them too.