Gilligan50
(Member) (Topic Starter)
I am new to JY and have never travelled on my own before. Booked Pompeii, Sorrento and Bay of Naples 10th oct 2018 months ago!

I am from the South Coast and will be flying from Gatwick. Looking forward to  and would love to make contact with any one  else travelling on this trip,

AELB
  • (Member)
(Member)
Hi Gilligan50

Welcome to the Community! You've picked a great trip for your first JY adventure. I did it in September 2015 and loved it. If you put Pompeii into the search facility on the top right of the page you will find loads of reviews and thoughts from people like me.

My top tips would be take very comfy, closed toed walking shoes because the paved areas at the ruins themselves are very uneven, as is the cinder path up Vesuvius. Also, take a hat, as there is very little shade and drink loads of water. Finally, try the local granita because it's very refreshing in the heat and also, if you like gelato and/or pastries, head for De Vivo - it's a local gelateria and bakery half way between your hotel and the ruins. My group quickly adopted it as our 'local' - it's fab :P

Happy to help if you have any other questions once you've read the reviews

All the best

Mandy

Kate7
  • (Member)
(Member)
'Gilligan50' wrote:

I am new to JY and have never travelled on my own before. Booked Pompeii, Sorrento and Bay of Naples 10th oct 2018 months ago!

I am from the South Coast and will be flying from Gatwick. Looking forward to  and would love to make contact with any one  else travelling on this trip,

Hi Gilligan50

I’ve just booked the same JY holiday, although I’m travelling from north wales so will be flying from Manchester. 

It’s all new to me too but really excited

jennyf
(Member)
I've booked this holiday on 5th September so the tips are worth reading, thanks.
wolfmiller
(Member)
'Gilligan50' wrote:

Hi Gilligan50