DouglasL
  • (Member) (Topic Starter)
(Member) (Topic Starter)

I am just back from this tour and would like to record my thoughts on it, which might prove helpful to those still to go on the tour.

First of all, some background info, which gives an indication as to where my comments are coming from.

I graduated in Hotel Management and ran my family hotel in the west of Scotland for 20 years - AA 3 star, 50 bedrooms, 2 lounges, 3 bars, 300 seat restaurant and ballroom for 500.

After selling my hotel I moved to Edinburgh and set up my own Destination Management Company providing services for US Tour Groups coming to Scotland ie Hotels, Coaches, Guides, Entrances etc. I ran this company until I retired in 2007. I was also a member of the VisitScotland industry committee which oversees all aspects of the quality grading of accommodation sector and just came off the committee last year.

Flights / Transfers.

Coming from Edinburgh, it was an early afternoon flight to Gatwick and then the early evening flight to Pisa. We did not get to the hotel until about 10.30pm and then had a meal. It was nearly midnight before I got to my bedroom. A long day - the rest of the group had been at the hotel from early afternoon. This was a most disappointing start to the tour. I would have preferred to have flown down to Gatwick on the Wednesday night and stayed one night at a Gatwick Airport hotel.

Both transfers from / to Pisa Airport took about 50 minutes.

Coaches / Drivers / Guides.

We had 2 different coaches for the tour: Thurs/Sat & Mon/Thurs. Both were excellent modern coaches, fully air-conditioned and fitted with seat belts.

The drivers were very good - either on the autostrada or the hilly rods of Tuscany. The ferries to / from the Island of Elba were also good. Roads on Elba were "interesting" - not many straight sectors - all bends!