joco
  • (Member) (Topic Starter)
(Member) (Topic Starter)
Hello all, I'm new to all of this and wonder if anyone has been to china lately and give me any hints and tips on food, flights, trains, money, internet access..going in August, very excited. Do you get to see the pandas??
AELB
  • (Member)
(Member)
Hi Joco

Welcome to the Community!

If you put China into the search function at the top right of the page, you'll find loads of reviews and tips from fellow JYers who have done the tour previously including a very comprehensive one from Bob Gray who went a month before I did.

It's a very full on tour and a real cultural experience. Yes, you'll get to see lots of beautiful pandas at the Chengdu Panda Research Centre. They have around 60 Giant pandas (and red pandas) there at any given time and I hear that they've had a bumper batch of cubs this year (usually born in April/May), some of which you may be lucky to see in the nursery during your visit. The JY itinerary usually arrives at the centre in the morning when the pandas are having their breakfast and are most active. Sadly, I'm afraid you won't get the chance to do the 'Panda Keeper Experience' (1-on-1 panda hugging) which we were fortunate to do back in 2014. I believe that they had an outbreak of canine distemper and so stopped visitors getting so close to protect the health of the precious bears. But you'll still see many incredible things on this wonderful tour.

Happy to help if you have any other questions once you've had a chance to read some of the reviews.

All the best

Mandy

joco
(Member) (Topic Starter)
Many thanks Mandy - so excited about the pandas! I have looked at some reviews and got some really useful tips but am I right in thinking the itinerary has changed recently - I wasn't sure if some of the older reviews were fully relevant- or has there only been slight changes?

I have seen several references about the quality of the food and wondered if anyone recently had any views on it?