jonah
  • (Member) (Topic Starter)
(Member) (Topic Starter)
I had been considering this trip for several years but parking it in favour of longer trips and finally managed to find a window and am very glad that I did.  That said I was surprised that a trip that has been running for some time still had areas that could be refined.  I don't normally do a day by day review but I think for a short trip it is worthwhile.  In the first place this is not a 6 day holiday as billed.  Very few of the group left home before the afternoon of the 12th (the first day) and with an overnight flight, Day 2 is actually the first day.  At the end of the trip, the group were all left by 11.30 am on Day 6 so again not really a day in Dubai.  The Stansted flight actually left the hotel at 6 am which was a bit of shock to the 5 travellers involved.

Day 2 (or Day 1 as JY would have it).  The group started arriving from 8 am onwards and with a few exceptions, no hotel rooms were ready which seemed a bit surprising for such a large hotel.  Facilities were available to freshen up and later that morning we left on an orientation tour returning mid afternoon when those without rooms had to go through the check in process and find their way around the hotel.  The hotel is on 72 floors spread over two towers which was a bit daunting to begin with.  In the evening we went to Dubai Marina for a dhow cruise with included buffet dinner.  I and a few others felt that this would have been better on another evening as we were all tired after being on the go for over 30 hours, it was cold on the Marina, the food was unremarkable and not very hot plus the cruise seemed to be rather drawn out with an unexplained wait by the unfinished Dubai Eye.